Skip navigation

I jumped this pair of Ring-necked Ducks this afternoon as I came around the corner heading toward the north pond in my backyard. They must have been hiding near the spillway because I didn’t see them with the group of Mallards, Widgeon and Mergansers as I was first approaching the pond.

1:53:27 p.m.

Notice how far behind the female the male duck is when they take off. He’s covering the rear for their escape from the dangerous (and very noisy) shooter with a Nikon.

1:53:29 p.m.

As they fly across in front of me, he gains on her.

1:53:30 p.m.

And easily passes his mate. “Come on, this way!”

1:53:31 p.m.

As they get above the treeline he starts to slow down. Their wings are out of sync in the photo above, below, their wings are in sync for a moment.

1:53:34 p.m.

He hesitates a fraction of a second, slowing his pace while she quickens hers to catch up.

1:53:35 p.m.

1:53:36 p.m.

1:53:37 p.m.

It’s a full 10 seconds after take off. He passed her in 3 seconds flat, but allowed her to catch up to him before they took the turn heading east.

1:53:38 p.m.

That’s some Ring-necked Duck love.

2 Comments

    • Carolina Linthead
    • Posted February 25, 2011 at 5:12 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Awesome!!! That’s some fine shooting, Kim. In my previous life, I spent a fair amount of time shooting skeet, etc., and I’ve spent much more time since then rambling about with camera in hand, so I know a bit about shooting moving targets, and I am impressed! I often want to lead flying targets with my camera, which is problematic, as we’re dealing with speed of light, not sub-sonic projectiles. You perfectly captured these beauties. Thanks for sharing them with us.

    • Ha! I know what you mean, I kept trying to get a lead on the bead of my “gun” and was always way ahead of the birds. Now I have learned to set my camera to “sports” and set it to take multiple pics as long as my finger is on the trigger. The automatic focus is pretty amazing in that setting, and since I’m not having to concentrate on moving my finger up and down to snap the photo (I’ve never been very good at rubbing my belly and patting my head at the same time), then I’ve improved quite a bit.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Buddy the WonderDog and I arrived at the pond this afternoon there was a pair of Mallards, a pair of Ring-necked Ducks, a pair of American Wigeon and one lone […]

  2. […] Buddy the WonderDog and I arrived at the pond this afternoon there was a pair of Mallards, a pair of Ring-necked Ducks, a pair of American Wigeon and one lone […]

Leave a Reply

